New Tier 4 Policy Guidance (08/14)

07 August 2014

The Home Office published version 08/14 of the Tier 4 Policy Guidance, on 1 August.

Download the current version of the guidance.

Amendments to the guidance, in Annex 7, are acknowledged on the cover page. Annex 7 confirms the removal, on 1 August, of the following English language tests from the Home Office approved list at Appendix O of the Immigration Rules:

  • Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) -
    • Cambridge IGCSE English as a first language;
    • Cambridge IGCSE English as a second language
  • Cambridge English -
    • BULATS online test issued by Cambridge English
  • Trinity College London -
    • Entry Level Certificate in ESOL Skills for Life;
    • Level 1 Certificate in ESOL Skills for life;
    • Level 2 Certificate in ESOL Skills for life.

If you are a Tier 4 applicant who has a certificate for one of the above tests administered by CIE, Cambridge English or Trinity College London, it will still be recognised as a SELT if you had made a leave to remain application before 1 August 2014 or if you make an entry clearance application before 22 August 2014. This change does not affect a Higher Education Institution's ability to choose its own method of assessing degree students' English language competence.

Additionally, Annex 5 (at page 75) still incorrectly contains one reference to £802 instead of £820.