Brexit: Fee status and student support in England for 2021-22

23 June 2020

Michelle Donelan (Minister of State for Universities at the Department for Education, England) has today (23 June 2020) given a parliamentary statement about eligibility in England for 'home' fee status and student support for EU, EEA, and Swiss, citizens and their family members starting courses in the academic year 2021-22. Here is the full text of the statement:

"I am today confirming the eligibility rules for EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals, and their family members, who wish to commence courses in England in the Academic Year starting in August 2021. Following our decision to leave the EU, EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals will no longer be eligible for home fee status, undergraduate, postgraduate and advanced learner financial support from Student Finance England for courses starting in academic year 2021/22. This change will also apply to Further Education funding for those aged 19+, and funding for apprenticeships. It will not affect students starting courses in academic year 2020/21, nor those EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals benefiting from Citizens’ Rights under the EU Withdrawal Agreement, EEA EFTA Separation Agreement or Swiss Citizens’ Rights Agreement respectively. It will also not apply to Irish nationals living in the UK and Ireland whose right to study and to access benefits and services will be preserved on a reciprocal basis for UK and Irish nationals under the Common Travel Area arrangement. EU, other EEA and Swiss students, staff and researchers make an important contribution to our universities. I want that contribution to continue and am confident – given the world-leading quality of our higher education sector – that it will."

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have not made announcements for the academic year 2021-22, but we will update the following pages as soon as possible after any announcements are made: